Federal law prohibits the possession, manufacture, or distribution of various controlled substances. Penalties for these offenses vary depending upon the severity of the convictions, but may include imprisonment of up to 40 years with large fines. Penalties double when the offenses occur within 1,000 feet of a postsecondary educational institution.
Georgia law states that public educational institutions shall, as of the date of conviction, suspend students convicted of any felony offense involving the manufacture, distribution, sale, possession, or use of marijuana, a controlled substance, or a dangerous drug except for cases in which the institution previously took disciplinary action against the students for the same offense. Such suspension shall be effective as of the date of conviction even though the educational institution may not complete all administrative actions necessary to implement such suspension until a later date, except for cases in which the institution previously imposed sanctions for the term, quarter, semester, or other similar period for which students were enrolled as of the date of conviction, students shall forfeit any right to any academic credit otherwise earned or earnable for that term, quarter, semester, or other similar period. The educational institution shall subsequently revoke any such academic credit granted prior to the completion of administrative actions necessary to implement such suspensions.
Georgia law specifies that college-sanctioned student organizations that, through its officers, agents, or responsible members, knowingly permits or authorizes the sale, distribution, serving, possession, consumption, or use of marijuana, a controlled substance, or dangerous drug in violation of state laws at any function shall have its recognition withdrawn. Furthermore, state laws also specify that the college must expel that organization from campus for a minimum of one calendar year from the year of determination of guilt.
The Georgia Penal Code prohibits the possession of alcohol by a person under the age of 21 or providing alcohol to such a person. State laws also specify fines for violators in the amount of $1,000 and a prison sentence of 12 months.